Shiny new

On my lunchtime walk I headed towards the hospital and crossed the Avon River using the repaired bridge beside the Antigua Boat Sheds. I hadn't used the bridge since it was re-opened so another first for me.

I sometimes drive up Montreal St but it's busy or dark and I hadn't noted the changes I did today. I'm on the banks of the Avon River downstream from the boat sheds, looking over to Oxford Terrace.

I was surprised to see this new building, one of the first rebuilt on this stretch of Oxford Tce. It's close to the intersection with Montreal St. It has some nice detailing around the windows and on the front I'll blip another day.

Something I note with some post-earthquake architecture is a tendency to use the structural steel bracing as a design feature on the outside of the building. I kind of like it. Here it frames the entrance way.

When I see bracing as an external design feature I always smile and think "Super building" (as in super man wears his undies on the outside ;-)

And I discovered where the Earthquake Memorial is being constructed on the river. In my mind I had it located on the other side of the CBD.

Whatever any of us may think about the memorial - it's design, the money being spent, or the architecture appearing, our city is slowly rebuilding.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.