a lifetime burning

By Sheol

In flight

WildWednesday: In Flight

Please pardon me for blipping a honey bee two days in a row.  My excuse is that I purchased a new flash the other week and although like my other unit it is a Nikon flash it behaves in a slightly different way from the old unit with my camera.  This has been causing me all sorts of difficulties with my flash photography just recently, and it has been slowly driving me nuts.  I had been starting to think that I had wasted my money.  I couldn't figure out what I was doing wrong and I ended up changing so many settings I lost track of how I had set things originally.  Disaster :-(

Now, normally the answer in these circumstances is to read the manual.  I can even here my Dad saying "if all else fails ... read the manual".  However, and I don't know how familiar you are with flash manuals, they are just not easy things to read and understand, and I am a reasonably intelligent and technically savvy sort of a bloke.

Yesterday, after struggling again, I sat down in front of the internet and started to browse the problem.  Sure enough, I was not the only person struggling.  Eventually I found a number of helpful sites and more importantly realised how I need to set my camera and the flash units.

So this evening, on getting home  I popped into the garden in search of moving insects (they are the really difficult challenge).  I was therefore delighted when my first shot turned out to be a keeper.  There was undoubtedly a bit of luck involved in grabbing this bee in flight, but I managed a number of other satisfactory shots so I am reasonably pleased.    

The extra, for those of stronger constitutions is a shot of fly's eye.  It is quite heavily cropped, but I was pleased with the detail of the eye.

Onwards and upwards!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.