DramaQueen

By DramaQueen

Birthday (cheese)cake

Yesterday was Mum's birthday, but as it was my late night at work, I didn't get chance to see her.

Instead, I took her out for tea tonight, then dropped her off at the hairdressers for a long overdue haircut.

She's not been able to walk far since the accident, and was due to get her hair cut the week after she fell, so it had grown really thick. She said she felt lighter after it was cut.

Our meal was lovely and we bitched chatted mostly about my sister, who has now asked me to take over Mums weekly shopping as she's finding it 'too stressful'.

Mum was upset as she said she doesn't want to be a burden; I've told her she's not and that I'm happy to get her shopping (I always ask if there's anything she needs before I go to the shops for myself).

The thing that annoyed me, is that most of the stuff she asks my sister to pick up is for the kids; baby wipes, nappies etc. so I don't think it's an unreasonable request.

Mum said she would try and get her own shopping this weekend, but I told her I'd be mad if she did as she can't risk falling or hurting her foot again when she's making such good progress.

Tonight's blip should have been of the birthday girl, but she didn't want her photo taking while she had a 'bush' on her head! So instead, you've got my salted caramel cheesecake. With ice cream. Yum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.