Just trying to survive

By NovaLovesFrogs

My Ugly Kitten

Today has been full of a lot of ups and downs.

Gonna have Cosmo's kidney function tested over the weekend.

He's still happy, energetic, still has a great appetite, is playful, and super snuggly. His urine is starting to stink real bad again, even though the color is still good. His urine used to always smell real strong and bad (even as a perfectly healthy young cat) until he went into renal failure. Then the stink changed. It doesn't smell like it used to, so I'm worried that he might be slipping back into renal failure.

Yeah, yeah, I know, paying attention to things like that is weird. It's gross. All that stuff.

But it's also extremely important.

How better to see what's going on inside of us than by paying attention to what we excrete?

Anyways. I'm sure I've told you the story before, but when I was given Cosmo so many years ago, I thought flame points were ugly. I thought he was ugly. (He was also adorable, I mean, he was a kitten. I also loved him immediately, despite being an ugly flame point.)

As he grew older, and his eyes grew even more brilliant blue, and his coat darkened from pure white to cream with dustings of orange, I fell in love with flame points.

I even wrote a fairytale about flame points a couple years ago. Hopefully one day I'll be good enough to illustrate it decently.

I love how this picture turned out. The markings on his face look like brushstrokes to me.

I hope you all are doing well. Take care.

I love you all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.