The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Black Tailed Godwit - Summer Plumage

It was a me day today. I've not had one in a while.

The one good thing about being self employed is you can earn yourself a me day.

It was a spur of the moment decision as I went to bed last night. I decided I was going to Slimbridge as there was a Long Billed Dowitcher on the South Lake, and it would be a nice tick to pick up. This means I technically twitched today!

I did see the dowitcher but it was impossible to get a decent shot of as it was too far away. I must confess I found the whole experience frustrating. The Long Billed Dowitcher looks a lot like the Black Tailed Godwit, but about the half the size. It was like looking for a needle in the haystack. I was determined to find it without help from the other birders in the hide, and in fairness, I did. The frustration came from "losing" it again when trying to take a photo, and having the scan the flock for five minutes to try and finding it again! It's all part of the learning curve I guess.

The morning was quite slow despite picking up a life tick. After lunch, things were a lot better. After one last storm I wandered over to the Hogarth Hide, which is also on the South Lake. The Black Tailed Godwits were feeding right outside the hide window, so I managed my best shots of the bird so far. Alas the Dowitcher was not there. I did tick off Mediterranean Gull and Ruff, so not at all bad!

Finally I wandered over to the Rushy lake, I was going to go home, but had one last look. I am so glad I did. There was a Heron feeding right outside the hide window. It was catching small fish, but then there was a big splash, and it came out with a big eel. It dragged it off along the banking and frustratingly out of sight. Eventually it came back out with the eel, which was now dead. I managed a few shots through the foliage of it. It topped off a wonderful me day in the end!

Some more shots from today .. any of which could have been todays blip!

Slimbridge Otter

Greylag In The Rain

The new Flamingo Hide is brilliant!

Cormorant Taking Off

Heron With Eel

Heron Close Up

I back blipped yesterdays brand new Four Candle VIII blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.