Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Udderly Fab

For those of you who don't live in Surrey, the CowParade is a worldwide event which entices businesses, schools and individuals to sponsor artists to decorate cows. They will be auctioned off after the 3rd September to raise funds for local enterprises and charities.  Rather like Oor Wullie who is invading Scotland in many vests at this same time. 

I joked when I suggested that there were 47 unless they bred before the sale date. Effectively, the cow in the foreground has a calf which you can see in the front of my extra picture.  These two are sponsored by 'Wings and Wheels' of Dunsfold, which is a spectacular aviation and motor attraction that is held annually not far from here.
The orange cow behind her is Glorious Cow, sponsored by Property House Marketing in aid of Challengers.

I was shocked when the men who were delivering the cows to their temporary pasture told me that the calf had to go to London alone.  They are separating mother and calf in case the smaller and more transportable model should be nicked!  What a world we live in.  Is nothing sacred? 

I'm happy to have got a photo of them both. One man was happy to put the calf beside the mother for a photo, the other was thinking Friday night in the pub and refused.  I tried! :)

Even better. A friend has just contacted me to ask if I can put a Mini Moo in my paddock for the local school... Absolutely Yes! The Prudential race will close me in all day on Sunday so I'm happy to Cowsit! 

Now, how do we make Mini Moo visible to the TV cameras that follow the cyclists? Watch this space! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.