Bentley 4.25 Litre Vanden plas Tourer 1938

I've had a lazy enjoyable day in the middle of which I drove Helena to Cirencester so she could attend a small fete where she could sell her cards. I returned by 5pm to pick her up and find that nearly everyone else had departed. The venue was a care home established in a rather grand old house quite close to the centre of the town with elegant gates and a  curving driveway up to the house.

The first thing I saw was this wonderful red car parked close to the front door. I parked and had to go to admire it and of curse take a few pictures.  Helena said she had spoken to the owner and that it was one of several classic cars that had come to the fete as added attractions.

I have tried to identify the model, and my bets guess is that it is a Bentley 4.25 Litre Vanden plas Tourer 1938.  The Bentley bit was easy what with the various distinctive badges on the wheel hubs, the spare wheel cover and of course on the grille. I have added an extra of the grille as well as another view of its rear to show its curving lines. The paintwork and chrome were all in fabulous condition as was the whole interior in leather and wood. I can imagine that nearly all the Bentley and Rolls Royce cars from this era will have been well preserved and worth a fortune.

A while ago I blipped this other view of an even older Bentley roaring down the Slad valley when I was walking there, which is also worth another view.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.