CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Dyrham Park's does and fawns

I took Helena down to the outskirts of Bath where she was going to stay for a short holiday, house sitting for a local family.  On my drive home, I called in to Dyrham Park a National Trust house and estate which we had both enjoyed visiting last year. I had in mind to just walk in the open wooded pasture where  I hopes to see some deer as we had before.

I had a quick chat with one of the park rangers to ask about the deer, and he said that the bucks were at one end of the estate and the doers and fawns were towards the north end. I headed for them as I thought i would like to see the young ones, rather than the big bucks who would probably be docile at this time of year. 

I walked for a while without spotting them until I came across a single doe slowly walking and grazing under some trees in a  glade. I could get reasonably close but then she would sudden;y wander off quite swiftly.  I decided to follow and before we had gone two hundred yards  she caught up with this little group of fawns and their mums.

I have added a couple of 'Extra photos' of the first doe when I first came across her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.