The horses which roam on Minchinhampton Common

I have spent the last few days preparing an important document, which with lots of Helena's help I finished today, printed it and then delivered it to Nailsworth. I chose to return by driving up onto Minchinhampton Common and took a small road to the centre of this National Trust grassland area and parked.

I spotted these six horses and a donkey which roam across the extensive Common with various herds of cattle.  There is are ancient rights for 'Commoners', which I think are passed on through property, going back to early medieval times.  One of the right is to let their animals graze the land for the summer period, while other rights are to do with taking fallen branches from woodland, or the right to let pigs graze on the fallen seeds of trees, such as acorns.

I love to see the horses, which are quite friendly, as they roam all over the common land.  Today they were sheltering under a group of trees next to a house in the middle of the common surrounded by a Cotswold stone wall. Behind the wall the woman who owned the house was peering over the wall whilst her Labrador dog barked incessantly at the horse.  She said that they know each other very well and the horses were waiting for her to give them some apples.

I did feel the horses were in need of some company and wonder whether their owners attend to them enough. Two of them wandered across to me and let me stroke their heads for a few minutes.  There were many flies buzzing around the eyes, noses and mouths which must be very trying for the animals. Next time I go up there I will find some carrots or apples myself and give them a bit of a treat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.