CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Hippeastrum beside the back steps

I tried to photograph an unusual bird this afternoon which I'd spotted being buzzed by the local crows above the end of the garden. By the time I'd changed the lens  and managed to get outside, the kite, which id=s what I think the bird was, had been chased away.

I stocked up the bird feeders in the light rain, which has been ever present today, and then went back in the house to give Bomble his food. As i sat inside the patio doors I waited for birds to visit the adjacent tray hanging from a trellis, but to no avail.  I had seen lots of them there this morning including at least three nuthatches.

I decided to take the Hippeastrum back outside and placed it next to the climbing French bean plants which are struggling into flower in this rather gloomy summer. I have kept the Hippeastrum outside since the spring and only brought it inside in the last few days now that it has come back into flower. I do rather like their massive contribution to the flowers of the garden, although I've never seen an insect feeding on the nectar.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.