CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A possible Royal Tern after its dive for food

I have been enjoying a slow day today. I decided at the last minute to drive  to Gloucester to stock up on fresh tofu and other select food stuffs from the Asian supermarket. On the way I managed to drop off my application for a postal vote for the next referendum, about our local Neighbourhood Plan which will occur when we are in Scotland in three weeks.

On the way home I went off-piste and ended up at the Sharpness canal at Parkend swingbridge where as usual I found the peace and tranquility of a canalside setting in the country to be very pleasant.  I got talking to an elderly fisherman as he walked along the towpath and he asked what I was photographing.  As usual, truthfully, I said I didn't know and would see what turned up. He said that sometimes there are some unusual seabirds which appear along the canal and I said I had photographed one last year.

I then sat beside the bridge and concentrated on the swallows which were performing aerobatics in the very strong winds as they tried to access their nests beneath the  bridge. Suddenly I heard a loud whistling and looking up I saw the fisherman waving at me. I quickly realised he was pointing at a bird hovering over the water close to the bridge in front of me. I turned my camera towards it and took as many shots as possible.

I think it was a Royal Tern, not a common bird in these parts, and I filemd it hovering and then diving down into the water lilies near to the canal bank. It went right under the surface then after a couple of seconds emerged to take flight again, a moment that I've blipped.  I have added an 'Extra photo' of a the same bird hovering again, much like a kestrel does when considering its prey, and then preparing to dive in for food again.  What a treat to see it, and I must say thanks to the fisherman for alerting me in time. I didn't see him again as he continued up the towpath with his dog.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.