Blue Damselfly

Taken near the edge of the lake, where they seemed to be flying in large groups! 
My sister and I have been walking 3-5 miles each day, and today while we were walking along the road we looked up, & standing not 20 feet away was a doe. She was so relaxed--looked right at us but kept eating grass at the edge of the road--eventually she walked out onto the gravel right in front of us & 2 small fawns came prancing out and started nursing. We couldn't believe it! When she got tired of them eating, she sort of hopped her hind legs over the little ones & slowly started walking along. Both the fawns stood there looking at us, then followed their mom, who continued to eat grass along the edge of the road--totally unconcerned that we were there. They must have stayed for almost 10 minutes--they were so beautiful!  Oh, & did I mention that yet again I didn't bring my camera along, as I'd found it too heavy to carry when we were walking that far in the heat--but then, some things are a gift and are just meant to be enjoyed!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.