WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Lazy

... indoor blip. And an addition to my rose series. I bought these roses at the market a couple of weeks ago and decided to try drying them. It was quite successful; I simply used string to hang them upside down from coathangers in a dark room. Sharp-eyed blippers may spot the yellow jug I bought in Pézenas.

Too hot to do much today, although I somehow managed to bake a batch of four baguettes and use the remaining sourdough starter to make focaccia with two toppings: onion, cherry tomato and basil on one half, and sweet chilli sauce with sea salt on the other. Ridiculous to have the oven on for so long! The focaccia became dinner, with grilled chicken and vegetables.

Yesterday evening I went to the Muso in Fabrezan for fish and chips with B and I (S cried off due to illness -- I think his walk has caught up with him!). The food was excellent, and we had a good time, but it was rather weird being in a completely anglophone environment. I met three people I know, but where did all the others come from? There must have been close to a hundred people there, but the people running it are about to throw in the towel and looked completely fed up. The main reason they can't make it pay is that they have never tried to integrate with the local community.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.