By Himself

By Himself

Inverlochy Castle

First day walking the Great Glen Way (GGW), Fort William to Gairlochy mostly along the Caledonian canal. Some diversions and the walk to the start of the trail from the B&B added up to 24km (14.9 miles). I made several sketches but this is the only image I have been able to upload today, and none from yesterday yet. I added colour to this later. 
The rail journey yesterday from Glasgow was crammed full, hot and uncomfortable but the views made up for that. 
The GGW was surprisingly deserted past Neptune's Staircase flight of locks. Weather turned wet by the time I reached Gairlochy but nothing too bad. The trail along the towpath was very unforgiving underfoot and after the first couple of miles became quite tedious (it would pass for a reasonably good road surface at home!) the best entertainment being a tourist cruise with people too busy taking selfies to see the deer in the opposite field - sad. I joined an interesting guy on the last stretch and enjoyed a bit of conversation for a change.
I am pleased that I have achieved the first stage without any worrying leg/foot pains. 
Tomorrow is more towpath and a stretch of road ending at Laggan locks. There is the Eagle Barge bar and restaurant there (and yes, it is a real barge) which I am looking forward to visiting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.