atoll

By atoll

How Now Mad Cow

Took a day off work today to visit my mum as she had sounded really unwell when I telephoned yesterday. I set off to drive over first thing and called enroute only to be told she had made a rapid recovery, and (in her words) "had put some slap on" and was going out. What to do?

Decided I would stick to my plan, and so we had a lovely day with a drive over to Burnsall, a walk along the Wharfe, lunch in the Red Lion, and a relaxing sit by the riverside with some ice creams. All this in glorious sunshine.

Late afternoon I squeezed in a short fish on the river at Addingham with Kempy. We started though in torrential rain, and fished till it was dusk. No fish for me, I am afraid to report, although his nibs had one (got to let him win occasionally).

Just as we decided to call it a day we suddenly realised we were no longer alone, and were being watched: About 20 young bullocks stood on the river bank blocking our way out. This is a shot of Kempy slowly making his escape through the herd, with me bravely still stood in the middle of the river, seeing how he got on. I think they just wanted to come for a drink, but they can sometimes behave very oddly as it starts to gets dark.

It takes a lot though to drive a wedge between a man and his post-fishing pint though.

Postscript: Just to clarify, my blip title was not intended to have anything to do with my mother ;-) I say this, as in her eyes a "cow" is just about the worst insult you can ever give a lady (I know this from a half century of tellings-off!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.