atoll

By atoll

Denny Hulme M14A

This one is especially for all the Kiwis in my subscribed list, as it is Denny Hulme's 1970 M14A currently on display in our Knutsford McLaren showroom. It seems that Denny is the only New Zealander to ever win motor racings top prize of Formula One.

I have to come clean and admit this is in reality a late Emergency Blip, as up until about 8pm I hadn't the foggiest what I would blip. Kindly MrsB agreed to a late blip-walk around town (pity we forgot some cash otherwise a pint might have also featured). Anyway, we walked all over and I got various mediocre shots. However, as we were headed on the final leg home, we passed the McLaren showroom with this newish exhibit inside. As I was taking the picture, a man strode purposefully past (MrsB reckoned it was the walk of a man headed to the pub) and simply exclaimed "now that was proper racing".

That immediately decided it for me, even though right then I didn't know anything about the car and driver. Back home, with the beautiful orange-yellow bodywork; reflected postbox; red geraniums; and passing ambulance; I then decided to use the Coloursplash App to highlight those lovely hues.

This forms the third part (a Triptych?) in my blip series, with MP4/13 McLaren For Sale; and Higgity Haggity Hoggety High. Ironically (given the title of the former of these two) when I went to find a bit of information I found this same car for auction in 2010. Not sure if this is the exact same one, but I guess it could possibly be. There can't be many out there.

Postscript for Petrolheads: Est. 440 bhp, 2,993 cc mid-mounted Ford Cosworth DFV V8 racing engine with large-port cylinder heads, four valves per cylinder, dual overhead camshafts and Lucas fuel-injection, Hewland DG300 manual gearbox, four-wheel independent suspension with wishbones and coil-over shock absorbers, and four-wheel ventilated hydraulic disc brakes.

Haha, I've no idea what any of that means!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.