Emperor Dragonfly

Went back down the track to the pond hoping to see some dragonflies and I wasn't disappointed. There were quite a few Emperors flying back and forth over the water and one that kept chasing a Skimmer away as well.
The male almost flew into me on a few occasions and I wouldn't have been surprised it I'd been head-butted!

Just as I gave up trying to replicate my in flight blip from the end of last summer I spied this female on the on the water laying eggs. She was there for quite a while so I took a load of shots. I nearly went back again this evening but decided to leave it for another day.

Thanks for all the lovely comments, stars and hearts for yesterday's common blue butterfly really appreciate it.


Mono Monday will be hosted by JDO in August (can't believe it's August tomorrow!) and she's set out the month as follows :
Mon 1st (MM132): Taste
Mon 8th (MM133): Touch
Mon 15th (MM134): Sound
Mon 22nd (MM135): Smell
Mon 29th (MM136): Sight.
"As usual you can be as literal or otherwise as you please with these themes, and I'll pick my favourites according to the entirely personal criterion of what pleases my eye the most!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.