Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

RideLondon London to Surrey Classic Race

A rather quiet and boring day at home - Thomas and I just chilled at home, I caught up reading all my photography magazines and then made us tacos for lunch.

Later this afternoon Thomas and I went to Oxshott to see the men's cycle race as it came through the village. It was the London to Surrey Classic Elite Men's Cycle Race - ever since the London Olympics four years ago cycling has become increasingly popular in the UK and so every year they have a race that follows that same Olympic route. I remember standing on the side of the road four years ago trying to take photos of Chris Froome as he came whizzing past - my photos were mainly blurry, but thankfully I have learnt something since then so today I managed to get some shots that I was pleased with. I have added an extra of Geraint Thomas who was leading all the way until the last 10km, and another of all the brightly coloured cyclists. They come past so quickly I was surprised I managed to get any shots at all.

By the time I got home and had made a cup of tea the winner was already riding down The Mall - it was won by Tom Boomen. The race had two crashes, one when a cyclist hit a tree -  consequently the race had to be stopped twice and the riders held back so it was quite a day for them. I watched the BBC news  online and saw Thomas and I standing on the side of the road in Oxshott! I was surprised how few spectators there were.

Tomorrow Thomas starts  a week long course with The Brass Academy - it is being held at the Yehudi Menuhin School which thankfully is a few miles from where we live, so not far to go every day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.