Barnstorming

Stow Maries Great War Aerodrome had a flying day today. I've been there a few times and photographed their resident vintage craft so couldn't make up my mind whether to attend. In the end I went for it, as much to stretch the legs of my daughter's track Honda S2000 that she has kindly loaned to me, as for the aircraft.

I met a lovely old man when I arrived who was a photographer in the Fleet Air Arm and enjoyed his company throughout. There was something different to capture. A Miles Falcon, with its forward sloping screen and trousered undercarriage and a beautifully shiny Blackburn B2 trainer, both of which had been flown in from The Shuttleworth Collection. 

The Turbulent Team in their VW Beetle engined bijou planes entertained the crowds royally with their barnstorming antics. Samantha Williams, FlyingPRGal on here, works with them and gave a slick, clear-voiced, interesting commentary.

Samantha invited me to go airside to meet the pilots and have a close look at the planes. I felt like a VIP in my high-vis. :)
    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.