Bus Challenge No 97!!

The Georgian House, Bristol

"The Georgian House is a well-preserved example of a typical late 18th-century town house, which has been designated by English Heritage as a grade II listed building. It was built around 1790 for John Pinney, a successful sugar merchant, and is believed to be the house where the poets William Wordsworth and Samuel Taylor Coleridge first met… It contains some of the original furniture and fittings… and has been used as a location for the BBC TV series “A Respectable Trade”, which was adapted from the book by Philippa Gregory, about the slave trade.” Wikipedia

This morning’s outing didn’t get off to a very auspicious start as my friend missed our planned bus so instead of a straight forward one bus journey into Bristol, we had to take two. It then started to rain as soon as we arrived in the city centre, and in fact it hasn’t stopped all day. After our visit to the museum, which actually was very interesting, we planned to head to the cathedral café but quickly discovered that the entire cathedral was closed to the public for five days (starting today!), for the filming of a new series, “The White Princess”, also based on the books of Philippa Gregory! By the time I got home, I was wet, cold and very tired, and quite frankly had had enough of my friend’s holier-than-thou attitude. Oh, and while we were at the museum, I was told off for pointing at a chandelier. I was very brusquely told pointing is not allowed because it sets off the alarms. I was very tempted to then run from room to room and point at anything and everything! But being a good girl, I duly went round with my arms glued to my side like a penguin!! Have you ever heard of anything so ridiculous?!!

Total bus journey times = 51 mins
Total waiting in between buses time = 5 mins
Total journey time = 56 mins

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.