The jug

I have collected them over the years and attached to each one I have now there's a lasting memory of a place, friends, a situation, a happy or sad scenario etc, etc, and there's a funny story attached to my latest acquisition:  

Whilst having dinner with our Devon friends in their local pub last weekend we requested water on the table and this jug arrived, I fell in love with it immediately.   After dinner I summoned the Landlord to enquire about the Potter who had created the jug .....  he told me the jugs were made by a Potter in Penzance.   It turned out that the Landlord had commissioned a batch of these jugs (all slightly different, of course) because he fell in love with them too - me, being of a fairly forward nature got into negotiations  about purchasing one of the lovely jugs and the nice, no very nice Landlord conceded at a price which he had paid for each jug?  and I was delighted to pay up and take one home.  

The funny side of the story was:  we all handled the jug at the table and held it up to see if there was the Potter's mark on the underside, but when it was Mr T's turn to take a look he turned the jug upside down ........   not knowing that it still had a considerable quantity of water left in it!!!!  I suppose I paid for the wet carpet as well as the jug!!!!

Every time I look at this jug it does and will always raise a smile.  Well, deep hilarity at the time!

Please don't mention ironing boards today - washing machines and their contents are so yesterday,  5 loads are now done but the ironing board collapsed and died at the sight of the contents of the ironing basket  and a replacement will have to be sought.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.