West Hams greatest game

The England football team have been in the news a lot lately, as it was 50 years ago last weekend that we won the World Cup in 1966 for the only time.
Englands captain that day was Bobby Moore, and the World Cup Final was the culmination of a remarkable 3 years for him.
In 1964 Bobby Captained West Ham to their first ever Cup Final win at Wembley.
In 1965 Bobby Captained West Ham to their only ever European trophy win, again at Wembley.
And of course in 1966 Bobby Captained England to their only ever World Cup win - at Wembley.

This is my Dads match programme and ticket to the game.
Interestingly this game was my Mum and Dads first ever date.
Dad worked at Whipps Cross Hospital, and my Mum was a young nurse who he had his eye on.
My Dad and his cousin had tickets to the game, but dads cousin fell very ill and couldn't go. Dad asked Mum, surprisingly she said yes and they went on to have 4 kids who all support West Ham.

This week West Ham make their move to their new home 'The Olympic Stadium', and joining me and my brother with Season tickets will be Mum and Dad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.