Château de Vauchelles

This little place was my (Annie's) home for the night last night. Not bad, eh? It's owned by the original family that built it in the 17th century, but as with many such big houses it needs help to support it. The rooms being rented out do just that.

It was beautiful and very friendly, with just a hint of random. I never did work out how to lock the shared bathroom, so this morning's ablutions were done quickly and whilst singing. I met some great people over a very friendly breakfast, including a dutch marketing manager for a tunnel company. The owner of the chateau ushered me in for a brief look around inside their private quarters - including a room that had been commandeered by the Nazi generals (with exquisite if over the top furnishings from the time). It seems that this trip I've never been too far from the history of European troubles...

A quick walk round the grounds to get the blip, and I set off to the channel tunnel via the A-roads (much more interesting than the Autoroutes). A quick Hypermarket visit to pick up last minute French perishables, then back to the UK. I dropped in through London to deliver my brother his wine from France, then finally back home - to unpacking and washing. The Carte D'Or coffee ice cream made it back ok in the cold box - it was my favourite thing as a child, and you can't get it in the UK, so it's a must.

It was a great holiday - sun, boats, exploration and family. Hoorah!

For me (Chris), no such fun. It was back to the London commute. A day that began with sunshine ended in rain, oh well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.