Sixteen

With the encouragement of my clinical director and service manager, I am leaving work up to an hour or more earlier each day than I was before the incident a month ago. Because it suits me to get to the unit really quite early, I am still meeting my contractual obligations, and getting home with plenty of daylight remaining. With today being sunny and almost windless, I got on the bike and rode to Western Springs Lakeside Park, where I saw and photographed a magpie (self introduced from Australia), a courting pair of Pied Shags, and this colony of Royal Spoonbills, 16 in total.

Until a couple of years ago, I had not seen one of these, and they were rare this far north. This group seem to be well established as I have seen a significant number here both last year and this year.

I had to use the 50 - 200 lens today as the 100 - 300 seems to be malfunctioning and not allowing a photo to be taken if the zoom is above 250 mm. Perhaps its time to replace a lens that has fallen more times than I can remember. It's not that I drop it, you realise; it just falls.

Today's extra is the female Pied Shag in the middle of a posture designed (I think) to entice the male, who flew fast and low around the lake perimeter, but otherwise just watched her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.