The Sorcerer's apprentice tries his luck at raising a monster from the deep.

Lots of back-Blipping to do... sometime. Hope to have a processed film back at the end of the week. Scanning later.

Trip to Ffordes of Beauly (an excellent local camera shop), bought the intended couple of 24-exposure B&W films to test a couple of old cameras with... and... and... well, you see... I had a wee look at an ancient lens. It was cheap, and me being likewise, well I couldn't resist. Suspect this may be the oldest lens I've ever bought. The aperture changes in one stop clicks. Even my first lens from 1981 had half stop changes to the aperture. And it certainly wasn't a Nikkor. New (to me) one has a very good reputation, though I'm always wary of stuff that's second, and likely more, hand. Could have had a lot of abuse, drops, or just be plain worn out over all the years of unknown use. Why are they selling it? This one does seem to be really good, so far. Sharp right the way into the corners, stopped down a bit - which would be how I'd normally use it. Small and light, with a nice smooth focusing action, and a built-in hood, that slides out when needed. Tested here on a hi-res digital camera, but it'll most likely be used on the old F100 film camera.

It even does nice stitched images, as per the first extra, from the cycle home after a swim. Did a lot of cycling today. At least 45 miles, and that swim, plus the bike loaded with shopping for the way home. Tomorrow will be a much quieter, gentler day.

Second extra, added a while later, was a lovely view over Beauly, the River Beauly, and on to the Beauly Firth, with the Kessock Bridge possibly discernible in the distance. Not taken with that new lens, though funnily enough, set to the same equivalent focal length.Nice to be looking at this view from the other direction for a change, and it makes me appreciate why one of my workmates likes living near here... and why he likes having a four wheeled drive vehicle for the Winter. It's not often I have to use first gear on my bike, but getting up the hill here (and this is near the start) was first gear almost all the way. As a cyclist excellent training, but I'm darned glad I don't have that hill to conquer every day! Higher up, the view was mostly obscured, along the road, that is. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.