If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Great Spotted Woodpecker.

Not the best shot I know but it was taken through the living room window.  Recently the Woodpeckers have started visiting the feeders again, we haven't seen them since winter.

One (or possibly more) juvenile visits regularly as does the male.  I haven't seen the female since winter.  The male is particularly nervous  in fact I am beginning to think they both have extra sensory perception, make the slightest move and they are off.

Today I set myself the task of getting a shot of the juvenile.  The things I do for a blip!  To get this shot I had to set up the camera on a hide clamp with remote control cable draped over the table.  When I saw it I needed to slowly slowly slide off the chair I was working on (at the other end of the room) and crawl (to be below its view) across to the cable and trigger the camera hping it was still on the feeders.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.