Reclaiming Isis

The next English course on the boat started today, from Oxford. Of course I cycled up the towpath to meet John with the newly arrived students, two of whom I taught last year, and this course’s teachers, one of whom I taught with last year. Of course I abandoned my bike to hitch a slow ride on the front of the boat with a cup of tea. I chatted with a German student who first came on the boat 20 years ago and who this time has brought her 10-year-old.
 
Novice drivers took the boat from the canal to the river through Isis lock (interesting to hear the reactions to the word ‘Isis’ from people who don’t know it is the Oxford name for this stretch of the Thames) for other students to have their first go at working paddles and gates. A turn involving ropes which appealed to these local lads, then back up through the lock.
 
I jumped off two bridges later and wished them a happy fortnight. I’m sure it will be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.