stuff & nonsense

By sleepyhead

Chinese Bridge

My cousin and I took a wee jaunt out to Croome Court to see the Grayson Perry exhibition and of course, couldn't resist a wander around the grounds while we were there. Another National Trust property, this was the project that supposedly launched the career of Lancelot 'Capability' Brown, one of England's foremost landscape architect's.

This is the reconstructed Chinese Bridge. The original was constructed prior to Brown's work on the estate in the mid-18th century but only survived until the 1840's. While I was there I noticed I wasn't the only Scot admiring it...

I've included a shot of the 18th century grotto with the reclining water nymph Sabrina, who is said to have inhabited the River Severn.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.