Gavin Maxwell house under the Skye Bridge

My thumbnail is a photo of the Gavin Maxwell house under the Skye Bridge which is now a museum and nature area.  Before the Skye Bridge you could only access this house by boat so if you wanted to live there you had to be made of tough stuff!  

These photos are ones that I took on my drive back to the house after dropping Lillie off at the Kyle train station at 6am this morning.  I get to go back and pick her up there at 8:30pm tonight.  She has been texting that she and her friends have been having a good day out and enjoying themselves.

Long before any of my family lived on the Isle of Skye, I remember in my early teens maybe, reading Gavin Maxwell's book Ring of Brightwater  If people today tried to do what he did back then, all kinds of agencies would be all over them like a ton of bricks.

Today has been rain on and off all day and so I have coloured between doing odd jobs about the house, staying inside to stay dry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.