Iasc

I've promised myself a day away each week this month and next (the weeks when I'm not on holiday, anyway) to take advantage of summer while we still have it.

Today was one of those days. I drove east to the local fishing villages in what we call the East Neuk.

The weather didn't co-operate I'm afraid. I got soaked in Pittenweem (the Blip), and had to take shelter in a pub. Pity I was driving. I was able to have Cullen skink (a fish soup made with smoked haddock, potatoes and cream) and fried haddock with chips (also known as French fries).

A young French speaking lad was trying very hard (helped by his parents) with the menu and ordering lunch in the pub, so he's the new owner of my "Scotland loves Europe" badge. He was pleased. 

After lunch I had a small bit of lobster at the fish market across the street from the pub, and bought 2 crabs for tonight's dinner.

Two seals popped up in the harbour (looking for a free lunch from the fishermen) and I caught one of them quite well - see extra.

(Iasc is Gaelic - Irish and Scottish - for fish. Pronounced "ee-usk".)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.