Leiflife

By Leiflife

In A Humid Haze (Or Not)

Pearl and I have been spending time on the deck some early mornings and late afternoons. The heat is a touch less relentless, and the beauty is great as the deck hangs over the depths where the woods are most dense. Birds sing yet are rarely seen, and the rustle of passing raccoon, fox, and armadillo is rarely revealed to the human eye. Pearl probably sees more than I do, but I caught her yawning before the camera adapted to the humid haze. So a natural filter screened the intensity of her yawn.

These late summer days are like this: a mixture of yawning haziness and intense vitality. I see it in pearl. And I feel it in my self. During rehab I experience a physical and psychic awakening when I am in the midst of that two hour work out that my therapist is sure I am up to. I seem to be. With her combination of faith and challenge, the seventy-two year old forgets the frailties and pains of recent months. My body finds new strength and capabilities I had thought were beyond me. Her positive attitude becomes mine and we laugh in delight at each physical milestone reached. Then I come home.

I return to the humid haze of my woods, and sink pretty rapidly into its yawning depths. I yield to a catnap that always lasts longer than I had intended. I read and doze...and rise un-refreshed.

Yet inside I sense a continuance of the waking vitality experienced at rehab. It may be more spiritual than physical, and I can't yet tap into its riches. I think it may ask for my patient trust. Perhaps the relaxed awareness I see in the extra of Pearl taken after the camera lens cleared...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.