a varied day

Day 11
Back to the walking.
Down to the town, up through the forest and out onto pasture before a down to a refuge. Elevenses of fantastic blaeberry (myrtille) tart and cream and then a challenge. The middle pic shows the col we had to reach and the guide said people usually managed up in about 75mins and the challenge was to see if it could be done in under 45. As it was the hottest day we'd had he allowed a little leeway.
Mr Rat set off and got to the top in just under 39mins (only the guide and a 35 yr old female athlete had been quicker), I was last in 74mins.
It was one of those climbs you just had to get on with, any stopping might have meant not re-starting!
Great views from the top though attacking sheep made it difficult to enjoy them but I did manage to eat a sandwich without it being stolen.
On the way down I stopped to take photos of Mont Blanc and a Campanula barbata (I think it was, there were certainly lots around) and a butterfly landed on my walking pole. I think it's a fritillary but I don't know which sort.
After this was a suspension bridge, the Mont Blanc tramway, another refuge and a walk down through flowery meadows and woods. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.