Sophie the little bee...

...who can't fly, because her wings never completely unfurled. I blipped her a few times a couple of weeks ago.
She walked everywhere, even up the flower stems in search of a flower. Often she went up a stem with no flower on the end. Sophie needed a little help which I gave. And I gave her some sugar water in a sponge.
Sophie never roamed far and was always able to be seen in the vicinity of my bedroom door which opens into my garden rustling in the flowers or shaking leaves. You could always find Sophie.
In the night Sophie, the little bee who walked everywhere, died. She was outside my bedroom door on the door mat when I opened it this morning. I think she had a good life for a bee who couldn't fly, and a reasonably long one. She got in all kinds of scrapes, but she always kept going. She always kept trying, no matter how many tumbles and falls she took.
I placed her at the base of one of her favourite foxglove plants.

Update on Meg: She is doing well. She is sleeping at the moment on my arms which is making it difficult to do this. Earlier on I had a piece of sliced Leicester cheese in my hand, which I was eating, and the next thing I knew the Meg of old stood up on her hind legs and begged for the remainder of it. She didn't even use her front legs on my legs to support herself. I was amazed because she is still building her strength up. Of course she got the cheese!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.