Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Pinfold

I took the kids over to Cliffe Castle in Keighley, and while they were enjoying the playground my eyes were drawn to the hills on the other side of Airedale.

Once my triangulation had kicked in I realised I was looking at Pinfold Hill, which I'd walked over when traversing the valleys and moors between Steeton and Silsden and Ilkley stations. Digging into the archives I find that said walk was on March 11th 2011, just a few months into the lifetime of this journal.  Among other curiosities on that day, on the brow of the hill, I found a petroglyph of Baden-Powell carved by scouts about a century ago.

Back in the present, we enjoyed revisiting Cliffe Castle Museum, a true cabinet of curiosities reflecting the idiosyncratic bequests that local authority museums accumulate through the years.

I'm back to work tomorrow after ten days off, but another long weekend trip is just a few days away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.