One Photo

That's all i took today - taken through the window of the hospital carpark. I had not got any plans for the day - one of those days where you just see what unfolds. So I spent time in the garden with the mist of imminent rain, emptying containers of rainwater and moving pots. I had just gone inside for a coffee when Friend called - could I  go up as she was heading back into hospital. So I had a quick shower and hot footed it up the terrace. Seems her energy had slipped, she stopped eating, then stopped drinking, and was now dehydrated with a thumping head, nausea and dizziness.  She got the phonecall she had been waiting for from the registrar - there was a bed avaialble - come on in.So her daughter and Igot her out to my car and in we went.They were most concerned about the headache and she is to have a head scan. My worst fear is that it would spread to her head - but I hope it is just the dehydration causing the headache.
I must admit to feeling exasperated if not angry - how many times does she have to get dehydrated before she recognises the signs and takes preventative action? I suggested she goes back on the steroids to boost her appetite. I guess it's a whole vicious cycle of low energy =lack of appetite =  inability to think clearly.
What nearly tipped me over the edge was giving her water with those sponge ended sticks. Nothing was being done as the Dr's were in some meeting, so she still had the headache, no drip had been inserted in her picc line, she couldn't sit up to drink as it made her sick, and after asking the nurses for something for her headache they said they couldn't as she had taken 2 paracetamols - seriously - that was nearly 3 hours ago! Anyway, I asked for the sponge lollies and dipped them in water and took it to her mouth - she greedily sucked on it. The memory of doing this for my dad in hospital before he died was immediately so vivid I could have howled. It did revive her a little though, and after bloods were taken, registrar spoke to her and fluids, scan and anti-sickness meds prescribed, we left her to sleep. But just the one photo taken today. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.