Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Sketch outing to Sheffield Manor Lodge today

A first for me, I've never been here before.  Most of the site is now a ruin, only the Turrett House, built in 1574 as a gatehouse remains intact.  Mary Queen of Scots was imprisoned here by Elizabeth 1st in what was the home of George Talbot, the the Earl of Shrewsbury, one of the richest men in the country and an important man at  court.

What really impressed me though was the way the grounds were lined with wonderful flowers - a mix of natives and unimproved natives from other places around the world.  It really looked wonderful wherever you looked.  I've been thinking of changing some of my grass for wider meadow borders and this was an inspiration.  

Buy your seeds or turf from Pictorial Meadows

Caught the train again, which worked out well and was picked up at Sheffield station.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.