DramaQueen

By DramaQueen

Tickets please!

Mr A and I were both off work today so finally got round to visiting the British Commercial Vehicle museum in Leyland.

I had to go to Leyland for an appointment anyway, so it made sense to go there as well and meant that Mr A didn't mind being dragged along to the salon!

The museum isn't huge, but it has plenty to see and all the exhibits are arranged in chronological order as you walk round.

I particularly liked the Pope Mobile; it was one used by Pope John Paul II, so I got to park my bum where his holy bum had been!
What was interesting, was that although there were some seats in there, the one for the Pope was more of a perching stool with a little grab rail to hold onto.

I was lucky enough to see PJP II a few years ago in Rome. Coincidentally on the day I was there, it was St Peter's day and they had a huge festival for it.
I'm not religious at all, but to see so many people all gathered on St Peter's Square was a spectacle in itself, but then the Pope appeared on his balcony at the Vatican and gave a blessing to the crowd.
His blessing (nice as it was) gave me the perfect opportunity to sneak away from the crowds and see the Basilica and the Vatican museum virtually on my own!

I always liked him as Pope; he looked like a nice guy. He might be a white dot in the distance on the holiday snaps, but that's something I'll probably never see again, and will stick with me forever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.