Distraction!

After today's training near Grantown, the juniors had a peg race.  One of the skills they have been learning this week is how to deal with all forms of distraction during their races.  My blip is of the mass start of the race with the coaches deliberately setting off in the wrong direction.  How many juniors do you think followed them?!

In a peg race, everyone sets off together.  Those who reach the first control first will find a number of pegs attached to it and, if they find a peg, they must take it and do a longer loop to the next control.  Slower runners who do not find a peg can take a short cut which, in theory, means that all runners come together at the next control where there may be pegs etc etc.  Coaches also usually have pegs so if juniors chase and catch them, they can ask for a peg from them (pegs = points).  For the first time ever at Lagganlia I was given some pegs which I was very pleased about.  Unfortunately, although I passed several athletes as I was taking my photos in the terrain, none of them thought to ask me if I had pegs!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.