Arachne

By Arachne

Hiding

Yesterday I decided that from this weekend I would have a fortnight away from the internet. This morning a news item about 'digital detoxing' popped up on my phone (NB, it's not the weekend yet) saying that 34% of internet users surveyed have opted to 'seek a period of time offline'. Very unusual for me to be part of a zeitgeist. I wasn't impressed by the quarter of those who said their time away had been 'for between half a day and a full day' but full of admiration for the tiny minority who'd managed a month. Were they in Cuba?

The time I have off the internet at the moment is spent stewing and freezing the apples from our tree that we don't manage to eat straight away. They are huge this year, probably thanks to the expert who pruned the tree last autumn, and I love their red glow through the leaves.

Anyway, by the end of the day I feel I've spent more than enough time on the subject of internet detoxing and need a bit of a break from the idea.

See you tomorrow. And the next day. And the next.

Or maybe not.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.