Wind Vane - Richard Woods (2001)

Quiet morning at home.  Neil was here but I didn't see much of him.  A parcel arrived for him from Amazon and I asked him what was in it.  I assumed it was a book or books - his usual Amazon purchase.  " Its a Cowboy Outfit " was his reply. I wasn't expecting that.  Apparently he is off to Leeds tomorrow for the day with a group of friends all wearing fancy dress. Its couples and Neil was supposed to be going with his girlfriend - but she had to go home to Ireland as her Aunt died.  So Neil asked around his friends to see if anyone else wanted to go and he found a friend who was keen.  This lad is going to have to dress as an Indian I think.  Wonder how he's going to look as Hiawatha.

This afternoon I had a doctors appointment.  For a good few weeks now I have had a stuffy nose, tickly cough and lots of phlegm in my throat.  Tried various remedies but nothing worked.  Doctor said it was most probably a sinus infection so I have been given antibiotics and a nasal spray.  After my appointment I got my prescription from the chemists and then got the bus to Gateshead.

I got off the bus before it reached the town centre to get some extra steps in.  I also took a detour into Windmill Hills Park. The Park was developed  in 1999 and it provides great views of Newcastle  from a distance across the River Tyne. In my extra shot you can see St James Park - home of Newcastle United.

The sculpture in my blip shot is called " Wind Vane " and was unveiled in 2001.The 10 metre high sculpture is constructed from stainless steel and incorporates a rotating section.   This contemporary wind vane commemorates the windmills that once stood in the area. What appears to be grafitti on the four legs of the sculpture is actually the four directions - north, south, east and west.

After taking a few photos I carried on walking to Gateshead where I did some shopping.   When I got home Neil was still here but he soon went off to his own place.  He wanted to watch the football on TV this evening and I don't have Sky here.  Newcastle United had their first match of the season - away at Fulham.  I listened on the radio. Newcastle lost 1 - 0. This doesn't bode well for the rest of the season.

Steps today - 8,312

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.