If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Eycott Hill Nature Reserve.

This afternoon Clickychick and I decided it was well past time we visited the reserve, after all it is just a couple of miles up the road.   Knowing what the area is like we took wellies rather than walking boots.  Good decision!  Most of the route is dry but there are places where you can not avoid the wet.

I have known about Eycott Hill since I was at school in the geology club and I learned there was a rock (Eycott Hill Lava) peculiar to Eycott Hill.  The reserve was busier than I expected with 4 cars in the car park.  We had a great wander saw many wildflowers and lots of LBJ birds (Little Brown Job) moving too fast and disappearing into the vegetation.

I nearly chose another shot of Blencathra (now there's a surprise) but settled for this little tuft of heather instead.  I have to admit I was despite my experience with agricultural animals (or perhaps because of)a  little concerned about the notices telling us there was a bull running with the cows and not to get between a cow and its calf.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.