A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Pride on the gracht.

Wow!!!
What else could I say about the opening of the Euro Pride canal parade in Amsterdam today! I have no idea how this was done but it was amazing. There were two of them and the second guy did a somersault! We were sat near a bridge over the Prinsengracht and they had to go right down under the water to pass under the bridge!

We were up late and watched events starting to unfold from our bedroom with a view over the canal. Unfortunately we had to vacate our room by 11.00 so we just crossed the street and sat on the edge of the canal. After a heavy early shower it was a beautiful day and it was very pleasant spot to sit and watch it all going on. Music playing, balloons everywhere, champagne being opened in the boats moored along the route.

I probably would have avoided coming had I known this was on purely because of the crowds but I have to say that it was one of the most fun things I have experienced. We enjoyed just taking in the atmosphere and not rushing about. It was an interesting spot too as they had to bob down and deflate things to get under the bridge. They must have had to do this over and over again on the whole route following the Prinsengracht around to the Amstel river.
We only watched about the first 40 mins as we wanted to do a bit of last minute shopping (Grace) and get some lunch. When we retuned for our bags the parade was still going on! It lasts several hours and then the other boats join in at the end. I'm glad I didn't see it all I would have taken far too many photos.

On the ship back now and the wifi isn't brilliant so no extras I'm afraid but I will do a Flickr link when I'm home.

We've had a brilliant few days and although I have visited before you can always find some new things to do, especially with another person and even some things that you would never have dreamt of experiencing or enjoying. (Madrid next year apparently for World Pride.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.