For my Mum

I'm not sure if I'm still talking to the South Canterbury (NZ) blippers.  They've been keeping the butterfly tree a secret from me.  Now that's not nice!

I discovered this tree yesterday but didn't have the necessary equipment with me - like a camera or long lens.  So I went back today.  There are literally hundreds of butterflies wintering over on this tree.  Huge clusters of them are clinging together to generate enough warmth to keep them alive.  

The clusters are always a constant shuffle of movement as they endeavour to share their body temperature, so it's basically impossible to get a group with them all in focus.  

When I was in Nelson in the holidays I took my Mum to see the clusters in Richmond - and there were none in evidence.  I'm sure she thinks I'm a big liar and that they don't exist.  So here you are Mum, I found them in Timaru instead!

They are such an amazing sight.  I will definitely be visiting them regularly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.