Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

The tissues are out!!

Twas the night of the finals and right through the house, not a creature was stirring, not even a mouse!  So I decided I would tell a bedtime story instead.

I love the Olympic Games, in fact I’m passionate about many sports and just love to see our young athletes achieving their dream of competing for their country.  At the end of the day only one competitor can win a Gold, Silver or Bronze medal in every event.  For many competitors it will be the enormous thrill of competing for their country.  For many it will be their first Olympics and you can just see the pride and excitement written all over their faces.

Yesterday, just before the Opening Ceremony began, I raced upstairs and found a very special item in my wardrobe.  It has been their since 1979 and it will always be there as a reminder.  I wanted to set the mood for what we were about to witness.

As a youngster growing up in Perth Western Australia I was blessed to have parents who dared us to dream.  Both of my brothers and I were encouraged to be the best we could be and we were all passionate about our sport.  We played tennis as youngsters and competed for our state as juniors.  Because Mum and Dad had built one of the first squash centres in Perth, we were also very keen on playing squash as well.   Squash became my primary sport and sadly because we lived so far from the main competition in Australia, my dream of ever competing for Australia seemed unreachable.

When I was in my early 20’s, I decided to turn professional so that I could earn my living from coaching squash.  What better than to work at something you loved.  Having turned professional it meant that I could no longer compete against amateurs, and my playing career was over.  ………That was until five years later in 1976 when the game became open to professionals.  In 1979 for the first time in history Professionals could represent their country in the World Championships Teams event being held in Birmingham United Kingdom.  

I will never, forget the thrill of being able to call my parents in Perth to tell them that I had been selected in the Australian Squash Team.  It still rings in my ears.  I was 30 years of age at the time.  I am so proud to tell this story to my Blip Buddies.  I know many of you played sport and competed at different levels and will understand my sentiment.  The Australian Blazer has had pride of place in my wardrobe and I can’t ever see that changing anytime soon.

I did find a piece on the web that was written back in 2009 that tells the story about my life in squash.  If you inclined, this is the link to go to.  Just search on Blipper - B Wall.  

Perhaps you will understand why I get so unashamedly emotional when I see our young sports people realising their dreams!!  We stocked up on tissues when we shopped this week, they’ll be in high demand as we sit riveted to the television screen over the next two weeks.

By the way, if you have reached this part of my journal - THANK YOU - for allowing me to indulge in such a personal way today.  However I can assure you that those young athletes who win Gold at the Olympics will never ever forget the feeling of achieving their dream.  It will be etched in their DNA forever!!

Aussie, Aussie, Aussie, Oi, Oi, Oi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.