By Himself

By Himself

The Braes of Ullapool

Mighty winds have been whipping across Loch Broom which is down below my little apartment in The Braes. I walked into Ullapool this morning and at times it was practically impossible to stand in the gusts. Young children were having to be held upright and elderly women supported along the sea front. The rain held off for the most part and when it didn't I took refuge, and a cappuccino, in The Ceilidh Place, a busy bistro, bar, bunkhouse and bookshop combined. The Stornoway car ferry didn't seem to mind the wind but I am glad I wasn't on it today.
Back in my temporary home I managed to secure my badly needed laundry to the line with some difficulty, but at least it dried quickly. Now i am watching, mesmerised as spectacular clouds and occasional bursts of sunlight speed across the hills. Heavy rain is forecast for this evening so I am staying in. The legs are still a bit sore and need the rest anyway. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.