Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

The C&PRR

Something popped up in my Facebook feed this morning to tell me that it was a historic day for the Chinnor and Princes Risborough Railway as, for the first time in over 20 years, they were today going to be running steam trains into Princes Risborough following agreement with Network Rail. Now if I'm brutally honest, I don't think I'd even heard of the Chinnor and Princes Risborough railway but as I knew W was going to be out all day and I was at a loose end, I had a drive over to have a look. They have a stretch of line only about four miles long with, at the moment, no facilities to 'run round' the train so they have to have a locomotive at both ends.

After a trip on the train I drove to a small level crossing where a farm lane crosses the railway and waited for the next train so I could take a few shots. I had quite a long chat with the crossing man who is dropped off the train to open the gates on the outward journey and then has to wait about 15 minutes for it to come back and pick him up again. Here we have an ex-GWR Pannier Tank which was sold to London Transport in 1958 pulling the train, with an extra showing 'Clayton Type 1' D8568 bringing up the rear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.