Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Sketches from sketches

A few years ago I was involved in a selling exhibition with some young students from Barnsley Art College (we did't sell much, but that's another story).  On admiring some of Emma's drawings she talked to me about her technique which was to start with a drawing or photograph and keep drawing it until she eventually came up with a version she liked.  I've decided to try something similar to try and move beyond my first sketch, so this afternoon I've done three.  They are both rather different and I like the extra space in the one included as an `extra'.   It was the one I did first.  The third drawing was to help me see the angles of the house in the background - so not included.  I've been using a bamboo pen and brusho-dye, which splits into its component colours when water is added.  I'm still intending to do more drawings and at this stage am not sure whether they'll ever become prints or if they will simply stay as sketches.  I've enjoyed doing them, there's something quite pleasing about working quickly and more at arms length.

p.s. just two photos today - I've accumulated so many images over the last few weeks that I'm not sure when I'll find time to process them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.