The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Sun Dressed

Having left the office at a decent hour this afternoon to head north to the lake, I thought briefly about chasing after an elaborate blip when I got there until I thought longingly about chasing down to the beach with my daughter. I am not sure there is any better cure for the woes of the week than to sit on a beach with a loved one and watch them as they let the sand filter between their fingers and their toes as the wind blows through their hair.

This is true even when that loved one refuses to change out of their posh knitted sundress prior to going to the beach. Ten years from now, when you look in Wikipedia for the definition of stubborn, there might just be a picture of Gabriella. I negotiate for a living but, when I do it with her, she whips me every time.

As PowerCut might say, stop reading here unless you have nothing better to do.

When we first got to the beach, the sky was brilliant and the wind was incredibly strong. The water was blowing off the surface of the lake and provided relief from the heat of the sun. After about forty-five minutes the wind suddenly ceased like the power cord of the earth's fan had been pulled. With that, the frothy white caps of the water magically turned into glass. Mother Nature then started to play her timpani at the other end of the lake as she pulled down her blinds. Away went the sun for the night. We retreated to the house to watch the conclusion of this performance of nature and the finale was a sight to behold. The lightening punctuated the darkness to the point where it was almost hard on the eyes and the rain did not fall in drops but, rather, it came down in cascades that covered the windows like a blanket of water obscuring our view of the lake.

No matter what forces one meets in their daily interactions with other people, they will never compare to the power and drama of one simple storm on a hot summer night.


Thanks for all of your wonderfulness this week....you certainly made my days brighter. Soon, I hope to find some time to catch up with you all and to have some real time with my camera.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.