Eilatanfoto

By Eilatanfoto

Game On!

I was wandering through the city on my way home after a late night and remembered I needed to post a blip (it was early afternoon if that gives you an indication of how late). The sun was dancing, the footy fans were heading to their respective games and there were happy parents and kids everywhere. Nothing out of the ordinary, except the number of happy families that weren't on their way to the football???

Curiosity kicked in and I joined the throng of people heading towards Federation Square. Then I saw it...'GAME ON!'

The Australian Centre for Moving Images (ACMI) has an exhibition to be reckoned with...literally. 'GAME ON!' involves over 100 large screen, fully interactive video games ranging from the classics (Space Invaders, Pacman etc) to the latest releases (um....errr....anyway, did I mention I'm awesome at Space Invaders!! And whilst I think of it, note to ACMI; wise move not to include 'Sing Star' at a public event, well done!!)

I ventured in to join the fun. Whilst I'm a huge advocate of the outdoors (henceforth my prepensity to wander), I also believe you should take any opportunity to beat 8 year olds who are going to potentially outrun you in a 10km charity event in front of thousands of onlookers....Lots of the parents seemed to have similar views. It was a great way to finish the night before!

So what's the blip you ask?

In order to find your way to the exhibition, you had 2 options: Follow the kids or follow the lines adorning the ceilings and walls (I'm laying sideways underneath it when I took this, the security guy suggested that was the best perpsective). They are made of the same material as climbing harnesses and traverse the entire complex leading you down to 'the vault'. The colours were awesome and I could not believe my luck (as you may have noticed I have a slight tendancy to blip bright things)...What a brilliant night...day....start to the weekend!!!

Have a great weekend and hope you find some colour to keep you entertained!

Incidentally, I have been issued an interesting challenge - to blip 10 'portraits' that reflect Melbourne in 10 weeks, so there may be a few extra blips to come...oh and they'll be in full colour - still haven't sorted how to use black and white yet...or how to photograph people... lol :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.