Baby Swallows

Despite best intentions of doing something constructive, I got bogged down with the computer. Len was being 'a man in pain,' and did eventually speak to a doctor on the phone who prescribed him some stronger painkillers. He cheered up after someone took notice of him. I cannot bring myself to be over sympathetic. It's probably a bit tit for tat.

But Basil and I did saunter out to Charnwood Water in the afternoon. The weather was a pleasant temperature, sunny with some fair weather cloud. No inspiring photographic ideas came to mind. Steam trains were running on the Great Central Railway next to the park but I've taken photos of them before.

I decided to give myself the treat of stopping at the Oakley Grange tea room on the way back for tea and a treat. Except that the kitchen had stopped hot food at 4 pm and the young waitress thought she couldn't turn the oven on to heat up a gluten free scone for me. I am not impressed by chefs knocking off early and denying hot food to those who may want it. I was rather looking forward to potato wedges and mayonnaise. Neither am I a fan of chocolate brownies which often seems to be the only gluten free option.

I was sipping my tea in a dudgeon when Ingrid popped out to say Hello. She's the owner/manager. When she asked me how I was, I told her that I wasn't happy about not being able to have a warmed up scone (they have to be warmed up because they're kept in the freezer). The waitress was new and hadn't realised that she could warm up the scone. I was very happy to get a cheese scone and butter in the end.

While waiting, I asked Ingrid if there were any swallows. 'Oh yes,' she said. And took me to see the nest which the parents had built somewhere sheltered where the temperature was equable. I was delighted to spot these four chicks peeping over the top. I don't know if they've fledged yet.

That cheered me up immensely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.